Uncategorized

The 2 BIG Questions

For my first blog post, there were two answers I wanted to address; why am I blogging and what will I be blogging about?

For some time now I have been wanting to blog but due to fear – fear of having no readers, fear of not being a good writer, fear of not having anything to write about – I never got started. I didn’t realize at first that it was fear that was stopping me from creating a blog. But through experiences this past year, I have realized fear is something that has stopped me from doing many things in my life. It wasn’t until I read the book, Me Before You by Jojo Myers that I realized I might be alive, but I am truly not living. There were two lines in the book that really caught my attention and made me reflect on my own life. The lines from the book are, “You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible” and “Push yourself. Don’t Settle. Just live well. Just LIVE.” Once I realized I was letting fear play such a big part of my life I had to figure out what to do to NOT let it play such a big role. The result was me coming up with my bucket list of things I wanted to accomplish in my life, I made sure to include things that at the time scared me but that I knew would be rewarding or exciting to do. Writing a blog made the bucket list. I have already started checking things off my bucket list and by the end of 2016 I decided that 2017 was going to be the year that I was going to start writing my blog. My initial plan was to have the post created and the 1st blog post up by the 1st week of January. Sadly, I could not come up with a blog name that I liked. I finally decided on The Good. The Bad. The Brittany. (If you like the name. GREAT! If not. too bad I like it and I finally realized that is all that matters).  So, that’s the long answer to why am I blogging.

As for the other question, what will I be blogging about? Well, part of that ties into my bucket list. For 2017, I am going to try at least 1 new thing a month. New things could be anything from a new food, a new restaurant, going to a new place, or just a new experience. Some of the new things may be on my bucket list but others not. I plan to reflect at the end of each month what new things I tried and how those experiences went. There are 3 other things I do plan to blog about; movie reviews, book reviews, and my weight loss journey. I have always been a movie person, so much so that not only do I get new movies each year for my birthday and Christmas, I also go see movies in theaters as least twice a month. When it comes to books, growing up I was not a book person. This has changed in the last few years. I now read at least 1 book a month, part of that is because I joined Falen from KDWB’s book club. I want to share with others my thoughts on both the movies I see and the book I read. If you are a movie or book person, I hope you enjoy my reviews and if we have countering points of views I would love for you to share your opinions with me! My weight loss journey is the finally thing I plan to blog about. Some of you might be thinking, what weight loss journey. Well surprise, in 2016 I lost 70 pounds! I am a strong believer that not everyone’s weight loss journey is the same and that not everything will work for everyone. I want to share my weight loss struggles and successes in case just one person out there is trying to lose weight and hasn’t yet figure out what works for them.

Now that both questions have been answered, it’s time for me to get out there and start living life. This blog will be true to my life, anything from the good to the bad. I hope you join me on this journey and enjoyed my 1st post. Until next time.

Leave a Reply

