Movie Reviews · Uncategorized

Arrival (2016)

arrivalFor my 1st movie review I ended up with the movie, Arrival. Initially my intention with movie reviews was to only review movies that are currently in theaters, then I realized there might be people out there like me who don’t always get a chance to see all the new movies and theaters and still wonder if they should rent them or not. For those of you wondering, Arrivals was released in November 2016 and now can be watched on Redbox or On-demand. When I 1st saw the previews for this movie I thought the storyline seemed interesting but I was not dying to see it in theaters. [Side note – this is a science fiction movie and that’s not my favorite category of movie.] Last week when I was on vacation there was 1 day when all it did was rain, I was with my Godparents and we decided that the weather called for a movie day which is when we rented Arrivals.

For those of you who have not seen this movie or previews for it I want to give you a little information on it. The storyline according to IMDb reads: “When mysterious spacecraft touch down across the globe, an elite team – led by expert linguist Louise Banks – is brought together to investigate. As mankind teeters on the verge of global war, Banks and the team race against time for answers – and to find them, she will take a chance that could threaten her life, and quite possibly humanity.” If anyone watched the Oscars on Sunday, February 26th you would have noticed that Arrivals was nominated in 8 categories and walked away with 1 win. Now that you have a little backstory on the movie, here is what I thought about it.

In my opinion the movie started off slow and a little disconnected. It did start to pick up pace when the main character Louise Banks (played by Amy Adams) arrives at one of the spacecrafts and starts trying to answer the BIG question: Why are they here? When Louise arrives at the Spacecraft we are also introduced to the other leading character of the movie, Ian Donnelly (played by Jeremy Renner) who is a scientist also working to answer the big question but with different techniques. I thought both actors did a great job portraying their characters and the connection or relationship between them, with that being said I wish the storyline did focus more on getting to truly know these characters.

Something to note here is that throughout the movie there are 2 storylines; the main storyline relating to the aliens which is very upfront and understood, the other storyline is not as prevalent throughout the movie and appears to the viewer as flashbacks but not that often. As a viewer I all I understood about the connection between the 2 stories was the 1 character (Louise Branks) they had in common, but that was IT! It bothered me NOT knowing how the 2 stories connected and why we were seeing the “flashbacks” of the other storyline. It was not until very close to the end of the movie that the viewer learns how truly intertwined the 2 stories are and the great meaning behind the 2nd story. I have to say, when you find out how and why the 2 storyline are connected it is very cool – that is if you understand it, my godmother needed me to explain it to her once the movie was over.

I thought the movie was complex (which I like) with having the 2 storylines, though there were times of nothingness for example when characters were traveling from 1 location to another. For me those scenes lasted too long that I thought could have been taken out or replaced with more character content. I thought the aliens in the movie not only looked cool but the way in which they interacted was intriguing. The acting in the movie was well done and the storyline was very interesting. At the end of the movie you are left with multiple thoughts and feelings. I personally asked myself what I would do if I were a certain character (I won’t spoil it by saying who). Overall, I enjoyed the movie and was happy to watch it, though I am glad I did so at home and not at the theaters. If your someone who likes Science Fiction movies or just like complex makes you think kind of movie, give this one a watch! I would be interested to know what others think of this movie.

3 thoughts on “Arrival (2016)

  1. I love films that are designed to provoke debate and analysis. Arrival is unquestionably one of the standout films of 2016. So many layers of brilliance; the music, Amy Adams, the photography, the juxtaposition of narratives looking inwardly and existentially – a great achievement.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

