2017: Something New · Something New

Something New: May 2017

New Cuisine

Not only did I try out 2 new restaurants I tried a new cuisine, Thai food! Until last month, I had never had Thai food, crazy isn’t it?! Both restaurants I went to we’re Thai places so it was interesting to be able to compare the 2. I went to Amazing Thailand in Uptown for dinner with my step-sister, Jessica. She had been there before and highly recommended it, especially if I have never had Thai food before. I didn’t see much of the inside of the actual restaurant because there is a side section that is outside and is almost in the middle of 2 buildings, that’s where we sat. The outdoor area was kind of small; there were various table but each were only 2 seaters from what I noticed.

FullSizeRender (5)When it came time to order I had no clue what I was doing. Jessica decided to order an appetizer for us to share. She went with the shrimp and chicken spring rolls, something I had never had before. When they came out I was not sure. I am used to egg rolls which have a crunches tan/brown exterior. These were white and squishy. The first bit I took I was not sure if I liked the texture. But the more I ate it the better it became. I have to say I couldn’t really taste the difference between the chicken and shrimp in the spring rolls, though it was good. My favorite part though, was probably the dipping sauce! IMG_0325

For my meal, I ordered the pineapple fried rice with chicken. OMG, it was so good! You are able to choose your spice level, its anywhere from 1-5. I choose a 3 which gave the meal the perfect kick but not too spicy that I was not able to enjoy the meal. We each ordered our own and the portions are HUGE! You are truly getting your money’s worth, not only with taste but also with portion size. My meal was like $16 before tax and tip which isn’t bad at all! After boxing up my leftovers, I was able to get another 2.5 meals out of what I had left. I would highly recommend this place and plan to go here again!

The other Thai restaurant I went to is in Roseville, MN it’s called Lisu’s Thai Taste. I went there for lunch one day with my mom and her friends. The place definitely had a different feeling then Amazing Thailand. This place had carpet and round tables and was not that busy. I learned that whatever you order it comes out whenever its done so the 1st person could be served and the last person might be waiting another 10 minutes to get their meal. I decided to be adventurous and order the Pad Thai as I have heard from people that it’s really good. I didn’t care for it one bit. I thought it lacked flavor and it was just smooshed and gooey. Others in the group let me try what they had. I enjoyed the beef rolls though I have had better one. What I really enjoyed was the sticky rice with mango! The 1st bite I was a little unsure because the warm sticky rice mixed with the cooled mango seemed odd. But I took another bite and really enjoyed it. Honestly, I learned you get what you paid for and I truly enjoyed Amazing Thailand more, so I probably won’t be visiting Lisu’s Thai Taste anytime soon.

New Campus

You may be wondering what I mean by a new campus. What I am talking about is a new church campus. I try to go to church every Sunday, but there are times that life gets in the way and I miss it. For the past 7 years or so I have been going to a church called Substance with one of my best friends, Monica. Substance has multiple locations and many services. Monica and I have always gone to the Northtown campus in Spring Lake Park because of the later services and for the fact that it was closer to where Monica and I lived.

The other campus through Substance is located in downtown Minneapolis. When I moved out of my mom’s house to be closer to work, I actually moved closer to the downtown campus. That was 1.5 years ago now. After talking for many months about making the switch to the downtown campus, we finally did it! We decided it was time because though we loved the Northtown campus it wasn’t allowing us the community we wanted, there were more families old and young there and not as many young, single, 20-30 year old. We found that we were going to church, not talking to anyone but each other than leaving.

Screen-Shot-2016-09-06-at-3.52.05-PM
Downtown Campus (Photo credit: Substance Website)

So the day finally came and we went to the 11:30am service – the later of the two Downtown service times! The atmosphere was so different, this was an old church with an organ on the stage! Instead of chars we were on benches. The building is truly beautiful and is filled with a ton of character. The biggest and most exciting difference for me was actually knowing people and being able to stay after church and talk with them! Anyone who knows me well, knows I HATE driving downtown and I hate parking down there. Luckily, the drive wasn’t bad and there was a parking ramp to park in and the church actually pays for the parking, which is great! Though we only made it to the new campus once in May, I think we will continue to attend that campus and make it our home location.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

